SHF OOO Tatoba Combo Review

Posted: March 31, 2011 in SH Figuarts

Heh, finally having a 3 weeks break now, so hopefully I will have more time for this blog and more gunplas. Hehe…

But anyways, as promised, here’s another long overdue post on OOO. More long over due reviews coming in soon… πŸ˜›

First release Batch also came along with UNKH’s hand and a display stand. One of the main reasons I wanted to get this guy anyways haha…

Interchangeable claws, option hands and the Medajaliber.

Front View

Back view

UNKH and the display stand. I wonder what’s the correct spelling though? The box says UNKH but in the show it’s been subbed as ANKH. I guess it doesn’t really matter much…

Nice display stand.

Having UNKH around allows for more poses. LOL

As expected from SHFs, kneeling ain’t a problem.

The Ozu Driver is very nicely detailed for such a small piece. You can see the medals slotted in.

The Driver is able to swivel,

A very nice touch that the belt is able to move.

And onto the claws… The claws are “extended” by taking off the “withdrawn” claws and replacing them with the “extended” claws. Pity they couldn’t make it swivel like the Ozu Driver. Although there are size differences between the “withdrawn” and “Extended” claws. The “extended” are larger in size.

The Medajaliber is fairly detailed as well… Making it to be show accurate.

TRIPLE SCANNING CHARGE!

*The UNKH display stand doesn’t come with the “clamp”. I had to use mine from the stage arts stands.

SCANNING CHARGE! The legs can’t “henshin” into the hopper legs, although I prefer this version of the rider kick. The hopper legs in the show… Are just too freaky.

Sad to say… Even though the eyes of the head are nicely detailed… This figurine isn’t without problems. The head and legs are fairly loose, and you can even see obvious nub marks all over the body. And it IS disappointing as SHFs are getting more expensive, but the QC has DROPPED. Drastically.

But if you can accept the flaws, and the high price point by now because of UNKH, it’s a pretty nice figurine to have. I got mine for SGD 38 or was it SGD 36? Can’t remember… But the price has shooted up like mad.

Well that’s it for the review of the Tatoba combo. Personally I feel that it’s a good figurine to have, but the flaws due to dip in QC has caused me to feel disappointed towards it. Otherwise, it is a very detailed figurine. I do hope that future SHFs can better improve….

Till next post!

 

Comments
  1. Tom says:

    I like the hand thingy that was on the base. ^^

  2. evolution says:

    Never really liked OOO’s design so I’m glad my wallet is safe from his combo spam. On the other hand, Birth I like…

    • Marzz says:

      I think I am only getting the TATOBA, which is this one. The other combos… Don’t interest me much lol.

      • DF says:

        Really ? I think the set combo are better (sagozou, latorata, and gatakiriba), not feeling for tatoba though It reminds me of traffic lights (red, yellow, green) XP

  3. CookSux says:

    I was terribly disappointed with the flaws on my figure as well, but at the end of the day, it’s still a fun figure. I just hope the other forms aren’t so bad.

  4. Aya says:

    I heard some complain about him especially loose joints seems you got that problem also 😦

    • Marzz says:

      Yea… I guess this is a sign that the SHF series are going downhill…

      • John says:

        As usual that every action figures made in China factory will tend to have their weakness, maybe some are OK and some are lousy… the worst thing to fear is if mostly are lousy…

        So far I haven’t experienced any loose joints from SHF series but I remember on that SHF Kamen 1 and also Kamen Rider 2 – the joint between head and neck is kind of loose. Anyway, my “latest” figures from SHF was that “Kamen Rider V3” – thankfully all is great on him.

        Nonetheless, I don’t have SHF from Ozu series yet though I have the other type of action figures from the “OOO Combo Change” series.

        Knub marks, it’s kind of normal nowadays…. sigh

        Maybe Bandai push the factory staff in China with cheap salary and told them to work extra hours with minimum Over Time pay so that Bandai can release their product without delay… and thus maybe also this contribute to low “Quality Control” – though maybe I’m totally wrong on this….

        After reading your review, I will now consider again if I want this SHF Tatoba or wait till we can see some sort of “Final Form” of Ozu as I only planned to buy 1 SHF from the Ozu TV series….

        At the moment, the Tatoba and that Litoratah is my favorite though the all red Tajadol combination is kind of gorgeous also…. have to wait and see….

  5. rubyvijudai says:

    It would be great if you could take out one of OOO hand to replace it with ankn for the fun of it πŸ˜„

  6. Aya says:

    @Marzz what complain i heard the most is they use less and lesser die-cast parts try compare with your kabuto I am sure he have die-cast ankle joints, every products have it’s own peak and maturity especially if the manufacturer can’t keep the Quality 😦

    @DJ that’s why I will retiring soon and bandai start annoying with retailers and international customer since they open their own online store where they sell their exclusive stuff(Japanese only of course).

  7. Marzz says:

    @ Aya: Yea, the quality difference between Kabuto and Tatoba is great….

    @DJ: Yea man… The older SHFs have better quality. Well, I only planned on getting this from the OOO series, as the other combos designs don’t appeal to me LOL. We will have to see the rest first though…

  8. DF says:

    Hey its Batta legs, not hopper legs.
    So I guess that means that Black’s motorcycle is really BattaHopper, not BattleHopper ?

  9. Marzz says:

    @DF: Hahaha I know.
    Personal preference I guess, the combo sets don’t really appeal to me… LOL

  10. divinelight says:

    nice review Marzz

    I guess the Unkh can be used in Figma.
    my friend use his on figma Billy…

  11. heathorn says:

    Ankh’s arm has SIC-like detailing quality ^^

Leave a Reply

