Exia Repair weathering (Drybrushing)

Posted: June 5, 2010 in WIP

This is actually something I wanted to do in a very long time. Since I done damages to my Exia, but I have not really done much weathering except those battle damages.

For those who have been following my blog, you will notice the cloak is different…..

A refresh reminder, this is NOT the MG Exia IM Mode. Previously, I used the cloak from the MG Exia IM mode, but it was darn loose, and I didn’t like the look of it. So I used something else to replace! Wanna know what I used? Read on…..

Instead of drybrushing with silver like what I did to my Zaku Warrior, I used grey this time. As seen in the pic above, these parts are lightly brushed, ready for more later.

The end result.

Close-up there, looking nicely weathered.^^ For the blue and red colored parts, I used black as grey did not stand out as well as it did on the white parts.

You can see the “scars” I did previously, or damages if you would like to call them that.^^


I am really pleased with how it turned out, my Exia Repair is finally done!

PS: For the cloak, I used something so damn simple and common. IT IS THE……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

……………………………………….. cover of an exercise book.

HAHA! I am not joking, it’s true.^^

Comments
  1. bd77 says:

    Exercise book cover, a good use of everyday house items in modding work. =D

  2. LOL! Nowonder it looked so familiar! Hahaha

  3. mangyver5223 says:

    Why u did not use used cloth as the cloak? I think u should make hole at torso since Graham Aker ‘Stab’ Exia at that part? Lastly, It’s an great job for Exia repair. But only the cloak made me feel weird Sice you use exercise book
    😀

  4. zoidiect says:

    ok….you got me there with the cloak…exercise book cover lol

  5. h4mster says:

    the cloak looks nice 😀 maybe you could also add more worn out look on the cloak?

  6. tsukinari says:

    nice job on drybrushing… altho some parts u overdid it buts i guess its okay :D…

    lol exercise book? lol.. if me i use that too hahahah…

  7. Andrew says:

    haha I also use exercise book’s cover on my HG Exia Repair.
    The weathering would be nice if u try to spray it with Top Coat Flat Matt.And I still prefer using MG Exia IM’s cloak on your 1/100 Exia RE1,Cuz it’s more realistic~XD

  8. divinelight says:

    cover of book, lol.
    I should have know, that’s good for replacement.

    is this the same exia you “destroy” in the past?

  9. heathorn says:

    ahahah, creative way to do the cloak!
    actually I am thinking of the cloth you use to wipe glasses, the texture is there and not too coarse.

Leave a Reply

