Paints + masking tape get!

Posted: January 17, 2010 in Uncategorized

Today i brought my brother to tuition at Kovan again.

Needless to say, we paid a visit to Hobby Point ^^

This is our loot for today! No gunpla there!

Total price = SGD 45.10

I am forced to conclude that even the materials for modelling are expensive…..

For the gold spray, i dun think i need it, but my bro wanted one, so i got it for him.

And today heartland mall was having a spend 38 bucks, get a chance for a lucky dip promotion!

This is what i won!

SGD 88 heartland mall vouchers! Yes! More gunpla…

However…. When i opened it, i saw 38 bucks voucher for the heartland mall shops, and the other 50 was for a shop selling women lingerine…… When i asked if i could exchange, they said no. WTF??!!! Do i look like i need bra?? So i just passed the 50 bucks voucher to my mum when i got home… ZZZ….

So…. Lucky or unlucky? What do you guys think??

PS: Anyone can give me a tutorial on how to mix paints?

Comments
  1. heathorn says:

    Lucky! You can go wandering around inside the lingerie store πŸ˜€
    AHahahah, joking.

  2. rockleelotus says:

    yea cost for tools really do add up XD but now your set! no clue how to properly mix paints though.

    congrats on winning. so you dont need a bra, how about pantsu? Lol XDDD

  3. evangelisque says:

    Lol yeah shopping for modelling supplies really do add up. xDDD Curious, but where do you spray?

    As for the voucher thing, lolwtf. Kind of inflexible of them to refuse your request for an exchange. xD;

    • Marzz says:

      Yea, that was kind of sad……….
      As for me, i usually spray outside my home. Usually at the lift area, luckily for me, i haven’t encountered anyone walking pass when i spray, lol!

  4. evolution says:

    Wow congrats on the little prize! That can cover you the cost of even more tools. As divinelight mentioned, Tamiya tools tend to be expensive. I try to get other brands which can be cheaper. In the end, you’ll still be forking a lot of money for supplies though.

    I mix my paints by simply pouring them into a clean glass bottle. Hold a stick on the paint jar so that the paint flows down the stick and not everywhere else. If you want to make precise mixtures, you’ll have to use a dropper or something but those things won’t last a long time so I just pour my paint carefully, stir and repeat until I get what I want.

    • Marzz says:

      Oh thanks! Another question, how much proportion of paint and thinner??

      • evolution says:

        Everyone would give you the same answer – thin it until it has the consistency of milk. I drink milk all the time but I still don’t really get it. I believe it means it should be somewhat less watery than water.

        I usually add around slightly more thinner than paint. A thinned mixture is a must in airbrushing, and for hand painting it reduces brush strokes but you’ll have to apply more coats to cover completely.

  5. h4mster says:

    sometimes my tools cost as much as the gunpla itself…
    LOL on the lingerie voucher! use it wisely, haha

    oh yeah, there is this spoon from Mr. Hobby that could help you on precise mixing. And for the proportion of paint and thinner, I don’t know for sure. But if you’re gonna spray the paint, use more thinner than the paint. If you’re gonna hand brushed it, mix it with the same ratio or with the thinner less than the paint. Just use you’re feeling, you’ll know it when you’re right πŸ˜€

    • Marzz says:

      I bought this mixer set as well. look at the pic. Included are 4 metal dish and some spoon like stirrer, u mean those?

      • h4mster says:

        if it has spoon shape on them, then yes, that could be it πŸ˜€
        …actually, the spoon I was talking about is green colored, and made of plastic, but basically all type of tiny spoon would do

  6. B-Mecha says:

    ouch. Tamiya tools are one of the most expensive…

    I saw green, orange and yellow. Are the paint for RX-78? πŸ˜€

  7. […] 2010 by Marzz Today, i brought my bro again to tuition. Also a chance to use those vouchers from the other day No thanks to those bra vouchers, though, […]

Leave a Reply

