Final Fantasy X (PS2)

Posted: November 3, 2009 in Game Reviews

Yes… You did not read the title wrongly. This is Final Fantasy X, released in 2001!

The reason i am doing a review on this is because during my recent holidays, i replayed this game and still is one of my favourite games! In my opinion, i think FFX is the BEST Final Fantasy ever! I actually first played FFX god knows how many years ago…

Lets get to the game itself!

This game takes place in an alternate universe known as Spira.

You play as Tidus, a blitzball ace in his homeland. He is participating in a match with his team when his home, Zanarkand, was attacked by Sin, and transporting Tidus 1000 years into the future with Zanarkand being just ruins.


This is the sin i am talking about^^

Without giving you too much spoilers, I would like to state that the story of FFX is one of the most engrossing storyline i have ever seen in a RPG. I literally could not put down my controller because each scene will leave you wanting for more.

The graphics are very good, considering that this was a 2001 game and also can be said to have the best graphics of its time! Hell, the graphics can also surpass some of the other recent PS2 games!

Let’s talk about the battle system. The battle system is my favourite among the other FF series.

As everyone knows, FF is played by turn-by-turn. What is great about this battle system then, you may ask.
Isn’t this just regular turn-by-turn? No, on top of being turn-by-turn, FFX has an additional feature. It is the window that displays the turns. Every decision you make in battle can help increase your turns in battle or decrease the turns. From the window, you can see when the enemy’s turn is coming up next so you can plan your strategy accordingly.

When you are not in battle, you will take control of Tidus and explore around like any other RPGs.

Another great feature in FFX is the Sphere grid system. This allows you to customize your characters more freely, instead of just having fixed set of skills. For instance, you can upgrade your physical attacker into a spell caster. Instead of getting EXP from battles, you get Ap(ability points). This allows you to gain sphere levels to proceed onto the sphere grid to upgrade your character.

In summary, every FF series has a great storyline behind it. I think this serves as a great addition into the FF series. Not like *cough* FF12 *cough*. I definitely think this is a must play for any RPG and FF fan, even though this is an old game. But i assure you, you definitely will not be disappointed with this game.

Until next time!

Comments
  1. chubbybots says:

    The developers Sqaure Enix have always been ahead of others for all their works. Be it graphics and game play^^. But my favorite is still FF7 though haha but FFX no doubt also ranks highly with me πŸ˜€

  2. Marzz says:

    As expected haha! I knew someone would say sth about FF7. Square-enix have come a long way, knowing that last time they were still called squaresoft!

  3. chubbybots says:

    Haha anyway, currently I am playing bioshock and my brother just recently accquired bayonetta for our PS3 ^^. But I seldom play games already ever since quitting Dota πŸ˜€ Prefer the nice sound of snap fitting my gundam parts!

  4. Marzz says:

    Bioshock! I have played it before… Not to my liking though πŸ˜›
    I have heard about Bayonetta, it looks like devil may cry! Never really play Dota, not to my liking also.

  5. eighteleven says:

    uwaahh!! I wanna play FFX!!! LOL looks like you got to play it while I’m here sulking away trying to find solutions to playing this awesome game! such as stealing*cough* I mean borrowing my cousin’s PS2 πŸ˜€ ahhahahahah

  6. Marzz says:

    Haha! You got that right, it is an UBER awesome game. I played this god knows how many years ago, and it rocked! I played it many years after and it is still great! Hope you succeed in “stealing” *cough* Erm… I mean borrowing! Yes, borrowing! PS3 can’t support PS2 games?

  7. eighteleven says:

    Yeah, hopefully I’ll be able to play this game. I’m already desperate enough to try the emulator. My last resort would be to just give in and buy myself a ps2 LOL finally I’ll have all the 3 main consoles of last gen if that does happen xD

  8. […] game Β  (FYI I cleared this game already…now getting into hard mode!) Interestingly both Marrz and Plutonian revolver are having their gaming moods recently lol. Well I’ll just follow this […]

  9. Good and relevant post.I have

Leave a Reply

